Delhi Mayor Election: Peaceful Voting Continues in the House, Expecting Election to Be Completed by 2 PM

  • Post category:News Portal
  • Post author:
  • Reading time:4 mins read
You are currently viewing Delhi Mayor Election: Peaceful Voting Continues in the House, Expecting Election to Be Completed by 2 PM

Delhi Mayor Election: Peaceful Voting Continues in the House, Expecting Election to Be Completed by 2 PM

12:14 PM, 22-Feb-2023

Doubt remains on who will vote for Congress

There is still doubt about whom the nine councilors of Congress will vote for. Voting is going on absolutely peacefully.

12:12 PM, 22-Feb-2023

The mayor election is expected to be completed by 2 pm

Councilors were called for voting from ward number 40 to 50. It is expected that the election of the mayor will be completed by 2:00 pm. At the same time, MP Gautam Gambhir has also cast his vote.

11:54 AM, 22-Feb-2023

Wards 21-25 called

Councilors from ward number 21 to 25 were called for voting.

11:53 AM, 22-Feb-2023

Manoj Tiwari and Gautam Gambhir haven’t reached it yet

At the same time, Manoj Tiwari and Gautam Gambhir have not reached the MPs yet. All other MPs have cast their votes.

11:51 AM, 22-Feb-2023

Ward number 1-5 councilors are casting votes

Councilors from Ward 1 to 5 were called to vote. Ward number 1 councilor Shweta Khatri cast her vote.

11:43 AM, 22-Feb-2023

Voting for MLAs begins

Voting for MLAs begins. Significantly, in the election of the Corporation, the MLAs nominated by the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly cast their votes. This time Speaker Ram Niwas Goyal has nominated a total of 14 MLAs to vote. Among them, 13 are MLAs of the Aam Aadmi Party and 1 are MLAs of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

11:42 AM, 22-Feb-2023

Councilor Shweta Nigam appealed to vote first due to illness

Due to the ill health of Councilor Shweta Nigam, an appeal has been made to allow her to vote first.

11:37 AM, 22-Feb-2023

Meenakshi Lekhi was the first among the MPs to cast her vote.

After conducting the search, the councilors will go to the ballot box to vote. All MPs, including seven Lok Sabha and three Rajya Sabha MPs, have their attendance recorded by name. Meenakshi Lekhi was the first to cast her vote as soon as the voting for MPs started.

11:34 AM, 22-Feb-2023

Pen and mobile will not be able to keep during voting

The presiding officer first called for starting the process of election of the Mayor. AAP’s Shelly Oberoi and BJP’s Rekha Gupta are candidates for the mayoral election. No member will have a mobile phone while voting. You are also not allowed to carry a pen along with you.

11:31 AM, 22-Feb-2023

the presiding officer reached the house

Presiding Officer Satya Sharma reached her chair, and all the councilors welcomed her. Satya Sharma said, thrice the mayoral election could not be held due to uproar and appealed to conduct the mayoral election peacefully. Today there will be the election of the mayor, deputy mayor, and 6 members of the standing committee.

11:20 AM, 22-Feb-2023

waiting for the presiding officer

Councilors of the Aam Aadmi Party and BJP are present in the house and all are waiting for the presiding officer.

10:58 AM, 22-Feb-2023

Total 274 votes for mayor election

There are a total of 274 votes in the mayoral election. This includes 250 elected councilors, seven Lok Sabha and three Rajya Sabha MPs, and 14 MLAs. Delhi Assembly Speaker has nominated 13 MLAs from AAP and one from BJP for voting in the Corporation House. AAP is ahead of BJP in the game of votes. AAP has 150 votes, while BJP has 113 votes. Gajendra Daral, who won the independent election from Mundka ward, had joined BJP before the mayoral election. Shelly Oberoi is the AAP and Rekha Gupta is the BJP candidate for the mayoral election.

10:57 AM, 22-Feb-2023

MCD elections were held on December 4

Elections for 250 wards of MCD were held on December 4. The Aam Aadmi Party got a clear majority in this election and the party won 134 wards. The BJP came second by winning 104 wards, while the Congress won nine seats. Three independent candidates had won.

10:45 AM, 22-Feb-2023

The voting process failed thrice

Till now the meeting of the house was called on January 6, January 24, and February 6 for the mayoral election, but due to uproar in the house thrice, the election of the mayor could not be held. Due to this, the political discord between the Aam Aadmi Party and the BJP has increased a lot in the last two months.

10:44 AM, 22-Feb-2023

The mayor is elected in the very first meeting.

According to the DMC Act 1957, the mayor and deputy mayor should be elected in the first meeting of the house after the MCD elections, but more than two months have passed since the corporation elections.

Source link

Leave a Reply