Formula E: Vandoorne Bags Monaco E-Prix Win; Moves To Championship Lead News Portal


Stoffel Vandoorne beat polesitter Mitch Evans and Jean-Eric Vergne to claim the top spot on the podium, as Pascal Wehrlein retired from the race lead.

Energy management played the key role in Stoffel Vandoorne's race.

expand View Photos

Energy management played the key role in Stoffel Vandoorne’s race.
Starting fourth on the grid, Mercedes-EQ’s Stoffel Vandoorne stormed to win the 2022 Monaco E-Prix. Following a frustrating start to the Formula E season, the Monaco E-Prix win has put the Belgian driver at the top of the Formula E World Championship standings and he is closely followed by the ones behind, with the top 4 separated by just 10 points.

Also Read: Formula E Reveals Gen3 Electric Race Car

Off the line, polesitter Mitch Evans got a great start and didn’t leave Pascal Wehrlein any room to make a move for P1. The initial laps of the race didn’t see much action up front, as most of the drivers elected to save energy for the latter part of the race. Wehrlein later attempted a move on Evans, but backed out of it.


Jean-Eric Vergne was the first driver to use his first attack modes, and he made up enough time to overtake Evans when he went off the racing line to activate his attack mode. Pascal Wehrlein later made a move on Vergne to put his Porsche into the lead of the race, but he soon had to retire due to a mechanical failure triggering a full course yellow just as Evans had initiated his attack mode, robbing him of any chance to take back the lead.

Also Read: Nissan Acquires e.dams Formula E Race Team

A little later in the race, Andre Lotterer’s Porsche also headed for the tecpro barriers at turn 1, as it came together with Oliver Rowland’s Mahindra, making it a double DNF for Porsche. This incident triggered a safety car while Vandoorne was in the lead. Form there it was a straightforward win for Vandoorne, as Evans’ Jaguar struggled with energy consumption, and the driver had to manage his pace to bring home second place. Mahindra’s other car finished in P11, as Alexander Sims couldn’t manage to get past Nyck De Vries, who took the final points position in the race.

Also Read: F1: Verstappen Leads Red Bull 1-2 As Ferrari Implodes At Home


Vergne fended off Robin Frijns in the closing stages of the race to take the final podium place and now sits P2 in the championship. Mitch Evans also moves up to P3 in the championship ahead of Robin Frijns who now sits fourth.

2022 Monaco E-Prix Results

1Stoffel VandoorneMercedes3051’12.473
2Mitch EvansJaguar Racing3051’13.758+1.285
3Jean-Eric VergneTecheetah3051’15.766+3.293
4Robin FrijnsVirgin Racing3051’15.940+3.467
5Antonio Felix da CostaTecheetah3051’16.425+3.952
6Lucas di GrassiVenturi3051’20.606+8.133
7Nick CassidyVirgin Racing3051’27.746+15.273
8Sébastien BuemiDAMS3051’30.246+17.773
9Jake DennisAndretti Autosport3051’30.293+17.82
10Nyck de VriesMercedes3051’30.756+18.283
11Alexander SimsMahindra Racing3051’31.823+19.35
12Dan TicktumNIO Formula E Team3051’32.229+19.756
13Sergio Sette CamaraDragon Racing3051’35.367+22.894
14Antonio GiovinazziDragon Racing3051’35.460+22.987
15Oliver TurveyNIO Formula E Team3051’35.671+23.198
16Oliver AskewAndretti Autosport3051’35.905+23.432
17Maximilian GuntherDAMS3051’52.141+39.668
DNFEdoardo MortaraVenturi23

DNFOliver RowlandMahindra Racing18

DNFAndre LottererPorsche Team18

DNFPascal WehrleinPorsche Team15

DNFSam BirdJaguar Racing7

ABB FIA Formula E World Championship Standings

1Stoffel VandoorneMercedes-EQ Formula E Team81
2Jean-Éric VergneDS TECHEETAH75
3Mitch EvansJaguar TCS Racing72
4Robin FrijnsEnvision Racing71
5Edoardo MortaraROKiT Venturi Racing49
6André LottererTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team43
7Pascal WehrleinTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team42
8Nyck De VriesMercedes-EQ Formula E Team39
9Lucas Di GrassiROKiT Venturi Racing37
10António Félix Da CostaDS TECHEETAH30

For the latest auto news and reviews, follow on Twitter, Facebook, and subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Go Travel Blogger